About Us

Learn a little
about us

#

The Hallmark Family Tree Has
Deep Canadian Roots

About History Feature

The Hallmark story begins in 1910, when 18-year-old Joyce Clyde Hall stepped off a train in Kansas City, Mo., with nothing but two shoeboxes of postcards under his arm. He had little money, but he had an entrepreneurial spirit and the determination of a pioneer. Hall quickly made a name for himself with the picture postcards he sold. Rollie Hall joined his brother in business, and the company was named Hall Brothers. On Jan. 11, 1915, a fire destroyed their office and inventory. Though $17,000 in debt, they decided to press onward.

Meanwhile in Canada in 1916, William E. (“Bill”) Coutts set off on a sales journey across the country with a portfolio of 50 card designs. With the help of friends and family, and backed by a company in Illinois, Bill had created a line of Christmas cards. This was the start of William E. Coutts Company, Limited and, as Bill recalled, this sales trip “really started the whole thing off and from then on for me, the business was greeting cards.”

History Tab4 1960 80s 410x410

Bill continued to grow his business in Canada with new everyday and seasonal lines, and his next goal was to expand into the American market. Through business circles, Bill had heard about a growing Kansas City stationery business – Hall Brothers – and admired their designs. In December 1931, Bill called Joyce Hall and told him of his interest in manufacturing their designs in Canada.

Mr. Hall was receptive and invited Bill to come to Kansas City. Mr. Hall entertained Bill at his home and that evening, a business deal was struck. As Bill Coutts recalled, “I was delighted. We shook hands and thus began an agreement which was to last for more than ten years before ever being put into a formal written contract.”

In 1948, Bill Coutts sold 40% interest in his company to the Hall Brothers. In 1958, Hallmark Cards, which was their new name, bought the balance of the company. As Bill Coutts said, “From that year on, our story is part of the Hallmark saga.”

Happy Couple

Our vision

To be the company that creates a more emotionally connected world by making a genuine difference in every life, every day.

We Believe

  • Our products and services must enrich peoples’ lives.
  • Creativity and quality – in our products, services and all that we do – are essential to our success.
  • Innovation in all areas of our business is essential to attaining and sustaining leadership.
  • The people of Hallmark are our company’s most valuable resource.
  • Distinguished financial performance is imperative to accomplish our broader purpose.
  • Our private ownership must be preserved.

We Value

  • Excellence in all we do.
  • High standards of ethics and integrity.
  • Caring and responsible corporate citizenship for each community in which we operate.

These beliefs and values guide our business strategies, our corporate behaviour, and our relationships with business partners, suppliers, customers, communities and each other.

#

Innovation: 21st Century & Beyond

02012019 43 KCBGTG

Now in the company’s second century of industry leadership, the Hallmark brand continues to evolve across its business portfolios. Quality programming started with the Hallmark Hall of Fame, and continues today with the Hallmark Channel and Hallmark Movies & Mysteries television and streaming entertainment networks, reaching millions of households across North America. The company’s Crayola subsidiary continues to inspire children’s creativity through crayons, markers and other innovative art tools, crafting activities and creative toys.

On the greeting card front, Hallmark continues to transform the industry with card lines and collections such as Hallmark Paper Wonder, Hallmark Signature and Just Because. Innovative products like Recordable Storybooks and itty bittys® plush characters create shared connections to treasure between grandparents, parents and children.

Replacement Ornament image

In 1973, Hallmark launched the first small collection of Keepsake Ornaments. What began as glass balls and yarn figurines has grown to more than 8,500 ornaments past and present, and a reputation for quality, innovation and, above all, a giving spirit. Keepsake Ornaments capture meaningful moments, honour special relationships, and help individuals express who they are as they relive timeless memories, year after year.

Magic is a key differentiator for the Keepsake brand. The company continues to lead the industry with cutting-edge innovation, including new story teller ornaments that bring stories such as Harry Potter to life on a tree. Whether customers are looking to capture the memory of an important life event or searching for an ornament people will say is “so you,” Hallmark has consistently provided the perfect way for people to keep sharing their stories and holiday traditions.

Storefront

Hallmark Canada continues to sell products in more than 3,300 locations across Canada. From the company’s Hallmark Gold Crown® stores, a network of independently owned card and specialty stores; to its mass retail partners – Walmart, Rexall and Rexall Pharma Plus, Giant Tiger, Familiprix, McKesson, Costco and Hudson’s Bay Company – Hallmark brings the most extensive selection of products to communities across Canada.

Hallmark has come a long way from Bill Coutts’ cross-country journey over a century ago. But most importantly, the company has maintained the enduring beliefs and values that fill the basic human need to connect with others.

#

Our Location

Hallmark Canada Corporate Office 3762 14th Avenue, Markham, ON L3R 0G7
+1 800-268-3230 Directions ›

I Stock 1061632656

Employee engagement

Hallmark believes in creating a climate where people are motivated to do their best to help the organization achieve its objectives. Greater things happen when people are engaged. Hallmark strives to create an engaged workforce that is energized, focused and aligned to the needs of the organization. Through clear communication, an understanding of the work to be done and a means to provide rewards and recognition, employees are encouraged to take personal responsibility for the success of the organization and go the extra mile.

#

Diversity and Inclusion

Hallmark's diversity and inclusion vision supports the company’s overall corporate beliefs.

Hallmark creates products that help people capture emotions and share them with one another. After a century, this is what the company does best. Diversity and inclusion do not stand alone, but are integrated into all areas of company culture. Hallmark offers a rich array of vivid and memorable ways to express feelings, and answer the needs of all types of people and their countless relationships, all over the world.

Within this diversity, Hallmark seeks to honour and serve what is universal in the human heart: the need to love and be loved, to be understood and to understand, to sustain hope, to celebrate, to laugh, and to heal. Hallmark is in a rare business: the company helps bring people together, make them happy, and give them ways to show how much they care. Very few corporations in the world can claim such a privilege.

#

"We help to bring people together, make them happy
and give them ways to show how much they care”

#

Sustainability

Hallmark has a rich history in developing environmentally responsible initiatives. From paper recycling programs beginning in the 1940s to today's zero-waste-to-landfill efforts, sustainable practices have been a longstanding tradition.

Hallmark's sustainability efforts are far-reaching. In the company’s most recent reporting, the portfolio of businesses has cut waste by 77%, greenhouse gas emissions by 50% and water use by 37%. Paper acquired from known, sustainable sources increased to 99% in 2018.

Looking ahead, Hallmark is progressing toward the 2020 goals to reduce the company’s environmental footprint with enterprise-wide programs and individual employee efforts.

Progress toward 2020 goals

2020 goals

98%
of paper from known, sustainable sources
55%
recycled fiber in packaging and merchandising
25%
reduction in copy paper use
50%
reduction in water consumption
95%
reduction in waste and special handling materials to landfill
50%
reduction in greenhouse gas emissions

2018 results

99%
of paper from known, sustainable sources¹
53%
recycled fiber in packaging and merchandising¹
34%
reduction in copy paper use
37%
reduction in water consumption² ³
77%
reduction in waste and special handling materials to landfill² ³
50%
reduction in greenhouse gas emissions² ³

About Us

un petit mot
Qui nous sommes

#

Les profondes racines canadiennes de
l’arbre généalogique de Hallmark

About History Feature

L'histoire de Hallmark commence en 1910, lorsque Joyce Clyde Hall, 18 ans, est descendu d'un train à Kansas City, dans le Missouri avec, pour tout bagage, deux boîtes à chaussures remplies de cartes postales. Il avait peu d'argent, mais il avait l'esprit d’entreprise et la détermination d'un pionnier.

Hall s'est rapidement fait un nom en vendant ses cartes postales illustrées. Rollie Hall a rejoint son frère dans les affaires, et la société a été baptisée Hall Brothers. Le 11 janvier 1915, un incendie détruit leur bureau et leur marchandise. Malgré une dette de 17 000 $, les deux frères décident de poursuivre leur commerce.

Pendant ce temps, en 1916, Bill Coutts entreprend une tournée de vente à travers le Canada emportant avec lui une collection de 50 modèles de cartes. Il crée une collection complète de cartes de Noël avec l’aide de sa famille, de ses amis et d’une entreprise de l’Illinois. Ce fut le début de La Compagnie William E. Coutts limitée et, comme Bill l'a lui-même déclaré, « C’est là qu’est née mon entreprise et, à partir de ce moment-là, les cartes de souhaits sont devenues ma spécialité ».

History Tab4 1960 80s 410x410

Bill a continué de développer son entreprise au Canada en l’enrichissant des gammes « toutes occasions » et « saisonnières ». Son prochain objectif était maintenant d’établir une présence sur le marché américain. Dans le milieu des affaires, Bill avait entendu parler d'une entreprise de papeterie en pleine croissance à Kansas City, aux États-Unis, la « Hall Brothers ». Bill admirait leurs produits. En décembre 1931, Bill passe un coup de fil à Joyce Hall et lui fait part de son intérêt de fabriquer les créations des deux frères au Canada.

Intéressé par la proposition M. Hall invita Bill à lui rendre visite à Kansas City. Il reçut Bill chez lui et un accord commercial fut conclu le soir-même. Comme l'a rappelé Bill plus tard « J’étais enchanté. Nous nous sommes serré la main pour conclure une entente qui allait durer plus de dix ans, avant même d’être formalisée par écrit dans un contrat. »

En 1948, Bill Coutts vendit 40 % de son commerce aux Hall Brothers. En 1958, « Hallmark Cards », qui était leur nouvelle raison sociale, acheta le reste de l'entreprise. Comme Bill Coutts le déclara plus tard : « À compter de cette année-là, notre histoire s’est inscrite dans la légende Hallmark. »

Happy Couple

Notre vision

Être l'entreprise qui favorise la création d'un monde plus harmonieux grâce à l’expression de sentiments et qui fait une véritable différence dans la vie de tous, chaque jour.

Nous croyons

  • Que nos produits et services doivent contribuer à améliorer la vie des gens.
  • Que la créativité et la qualité dont nous faisons preuve pour chacun de nos produits et services sont des éléments indispensables à notre réussite.
  • Que l’innovation dans tous les secteurs de notre entreprise est essentielle à l’atteinte et au maintien de notre position de chef de file.
  • Que le personnel de Hallmark constitue sa plus précieuse ressource.
  • Que d’excellents résultats financiers sont indispensables pour nous permettre d’atteindre un objectif plus vaste.
  • Que notre statut de société privée doit être conservé.

Nous valorisons

  • L’excellence dans toutes nos actions.
  • Le maintien de normes élevées en matière d’éthique et d’intégrité.
  • La promotion de la responsabilité sociale de notre entreprise dans tous les milieux où nous exerçons nos activités.

Ces croyances et valeurs guident nos stratégies commerciales, notre comportement entrepreunarial, nos relations avec les partenaires, les fournisseurs, les clients, les communautés de même que les relations entre ces différents intervenants.

#

Innovation : Le 21e siècle et au-delà

02012019 43 KCBGTG

Aujourd’hui, Hallmark amorce son deuxième siècle en tant que chef de file de l'industrie. La marque Hallmark poursuit son évolution dans toutes ses divisions commerciales. La programmation de qualité a commencé par la série télévisée Hallmark Hall of Fame et se poursuit aujourd'hui via les réseaux de divertissement et de télévision Hallmark Channel et Hallmark Movies & Mysteries, diffusés dans des millions de foyers en Amérique du Nord. La filiale Crayola de Hallmark continue à stimuler la créativité des enfants avec ses crayons, ses marqueurs, d'autres outils artistiques innovants, des activités d'artisanat et des jouets créatifs.

Sur le plan des cartes de souhaits, Hallmark continue de transformer l'industrie par ses gammes de cartes et ses collections telles que Hallmark Paper Wonder, Hallmark Signature et Just Because. Des produits innovants tels que les livres de contes enregistrables et les personnages en peluche itty bittys® consolident les liens entre les grands-parents, les parents et les enfants.

Replacement Ornament image

En 1973, Hallmark inaugurait sa première petite collection de décorations Keepsake. Ce qui commença par des boules de verre et des figurines en fil textile donna naissance à plus de 8 500 décorations d'hier et d'aujourd'hui, et contribua à une réputation de qualité, d'innovation et, surtout, de générosité. Les décorations Keepsake célèbrent des moments significatifs, honorent des relations spéciales et aident les individus à exprimer qui ils sont en ravivant des souvenirs intemporels, au fil des ans.

La magie est l'élément clé qui démarque les décorations Keepsake. Hallmark continue de dominer l'industrie par ses innovations, notamment les nouvelles décorations de conteurs d’histoires, des figurines telles que Harry Potter, qui donnent vie à un arbre de Noël. Que ce soit pour célébrer un événement important de la vie ou simplement faire preuve d’originalité, Hallmark a toujours proposé l’élément idéal qui permet aux gens de célébrer leurs souvenirs et traditions des fêtes.

Storefront

Hallmark Canada continue de vendre ses produits dans plus de 3 300 établissements au pays, depuis ses boutiques Couronne d'Or® (réseau de magasins de cartes et d’articles spécialisés indépendants) à ses partenaires de grande distribution – Walmart, Rexall et Rexall Pharma Plus, Tigre Géant, Familiprix, McKesson, Costco et la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson. Hallmark propose la plus vaste gamme de produits aux collectivités du Canada.

Hallmark a fait bien du chemin depuis la tournée nationale de Bill Coutts il y a plus d'un siècle. Le plus important c’est que l'entreprise est restée fidèle à ses croyances et ses valeurs durables qui répondent au besoin essentiel des êtres humains, soit de communiquer entre eux.

#

SIÈGE SOCIAL

Siège social de Hallmark Canada 3762 14th Avenue, Markham, ON L3R 0G7
+1 800-268-3230 Itinéraire →

I Stock 1061632656

Engagement des employés

Hallmark croit en la création d'un climat où les employés sont motivés à faire de leur mieux pour aider l’entreprise à atteindre ses objectifs. Lorsque les employés sont engagés, l’extraordinaire devient la norme. Hallmark s'efforce de réunir des employés consciencieux, dynamiques, concentrés et alignés sur les besoins de l’entreprise. Grâce à une communication claire, des directives précises, des moyens de récompense et de reconnaissance, les employés sont encouragés à assumer personnellement la responsabilité du succès de l'entreprise et à se surpasser.

#

Diversité et inclusion

La culture de diversité et d'inclusion de Hallmark favorise les valeurs et croyances générales au sein de l'entreprise.

Hallmark crée des produits qui aident les clients à célébrer leurs émotions et à les partager entre eux. Depuis un siècle, c'est ce que l'entreprise fait de mieux. La diversité et l'inclusion ne sont pas des notions isolées, elles sont intégrées à tous les domaines de la culture de l'entreprise. Hallmark offre une vaste gamme d’expressions vivifiantes et mémorables qui contribuent à transmettre des sentiments et répondent aux besoins de tous les types de personnes et de leurs innombrables relations, partout dans le monde.

Au sein de cette diversité, Hallmark cherche à honorer et à servir ce qui est universel dans le cœur humain : le besoin d'aimer et d'être aimé, d'être compris et de comprendre, de préserver l'espoir, de célébrer, de rire et de guérir. Hallmark est une entreprise unique qui contribue à rapprocher les gens, à les rendre heureux et à leur donner la possibilité de montrer à quel point ils se soucient les uns des autres. Très peu d’entreprises dans le monde peuvent revendiquer un tel privilège.

#

« Nous voulons rapprocher les gens, les rendre heureux et leur donner la possibilité de montrer à quel point ils se soucient les uns des autres. »

#

Durabilité

L'histoire de Hallmark est riche en initiatives respectueuses de l’environnement. Depuis les programmes de recyclage de papier, lancés dans les années 40, aux efforts actuels d’élimination sans résidus, les pratiques durables sont une tradition depuis toujours chez Hallmark.

Les efforts de Hallmark axés sur la durabilité sont d'une grande portée. Dans son tout récent rapport, l’entreprise indique avoir réduit ses déchets de 77 %, ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre de 50 % et sa consommation d’eau de 37 %. Le papier provenant de sources connues et durables est passé à 99 % en 2018.

Actuellement, Hallmark progresse vers ses objectifs 2020 concernant la réduction de son empreinte environnementale au moyen de programmes englobant l’ensemble de ses activités et les efforts individuels des employés.

Progression des objectifs 2020

Objectifs 2020

98%
Papier provenant de sources durables
55%
Fibres recyclées dans l'emballage et le marchandisage
25%
Réduction de papier bond
50%
Réduction de la consommation d’eau
95%
Réduction des déchets et des matériaux de manutention spéciaux destinés au dépotoir
50%
Réduction de gaz à effet de serre

Résultats 2018

99%
Papier provenant de sources durables¹
53%
Fibres recyclées dans l'emballage et le marchandisage
34%
Réduction de papier bond
37%
Réduction de la consommation d’eau ² ³
77%
Réduction des déchets et des matériaux de manutention spéciaux destinés au dépotoir² ³
50%
Réduction de gaz à effet de serre ² ³